Welcome to Kete Selwyn
This resource was created by Selwyn Library to record and preserve the heritage of the Selwyn District of New Zealand.
Below you will find the most recently changed topics, to the right are some interesting ways to browse our collections and above there are some categories and topics to choose that may help you begin to explore Selwyn.
Please sign up for an account to begin adding to our material and preserving your own history.

Latest 5 topics


Travellers between East and West by the newly opened Midland railway will see beside the line at Sheffield a fitting memorial in the form of a fine obelisk of grey granite erected to the memory of the men of the Sheffield Riding of the Malvern County, who gave their lives in the Great War. The monument has been erected for several months, but owing to the recent deviation of the railway line, there was a fear that it would be necessary to shift the obelisk to another site. Fortunately this expedient was averted and on Sunday

Ballagh, R..  Corporal Robert Ballagh - 24/679

Robert was born at Hororata on 3rd May 1884, son of Henry and Elizabeth Ballagh. Before enlisting he was working as a farmer at Hororata. He was 5ft 11in tall with a dark complexion, grey eyes and dark brown hair.  He also had a scar on his right shinbone. When he had the medical examination the notation was that his teeth bad but he had dental work before leaving.

Sergeant John MacDonald – 7/927

John was born on 16 November 1891 in Rosshire, Scotland, son of Eden and Christina MacDonald. Before enlisting he was a labourer for J. E. Conway at Kirwee. He had outstanding previous experience having served with the Lovat Scouts. The Lovat Scouts were a British Army unit (precursor of the SAS) formed by Lord Lovat during the Second Boer War as a Scottish Highland yeomanry regiment. They have the distinction of being the first military unit to wear a Ghillie or

Sergeant Arthur George Compton – 6/871Compton, A G 

Arthur was born 27th March 1893, fourth son of Edward Green and Katherine E. Compton, of Newton Burgoland, Leicester, England. He was educated at Heather High School, Leicestershire and after a course at the Midland Agricultural College emigrated to New Zealand. His joined his uncle Mr Frederick William Compton, of Annat, as a farm hand. He was 5 ft 6 ½ inches tall with a dark complexion, brown eyes and brown

Trooper Frank Goodrick – 7/959 

Frank was born 24 April 1881, eldest son of Henry and Mary Goodrick, York. He and a younger brother Harry, had emigrated to New Zealand 10 years earlier, presumably through contact with his maternal uncle Mr J. Magson of Rakaia. He had been working on farms in the Canterbury area and at the time of enlisting he was working as a ploughman for Mr Souter, Greendale. He was 5ft 9 ¼ inches tall with a fair complexion, blue eyes and sandy

Contents by type

Random Image from the Archive

Lincoln Library & Service Centre.

Blank Play/Pause Slideshow. Next Image.